Protection for wildlife

Wildlife reserves Schweiz
at the ski resort

When you’re out skiing, you won’t even see them, the animals living next to the pistes. They’re shy and stay clear of humans. Because winter is a difficult time for wildlife, we ask that you respect their habitat.

Protection for wildlife

Many birds fly south for the winter. Wild animals that spend the winter months here have to be very frugal with their energy reserves. There is little to eat in the winter, and the food that’s available is low in nutrients. Moving about in the snow saps their strength and their energy reserves. As a result, wild animals have developed a variety of strategies for reducing their energy consumption to a minimum. They stay in dens or sheltered areas, warm themselves in the sun, lower their body temperatures, and move around as little as possible in order to save strength.

These survival strategies are successful only if wild animals are left undisturbed. Disturbances cause stress and trigger flight responses, which costs the animals a lot of energy. Wildlife reserves have been designated in and around the ski resort, and they are intended to protect wild animals from being disturbed and ensure that they get their needed tranquillity. The reserves are marked on the ski map in green and signposted in some cases at their locations.

Wildlife reserves: restricted zones

Entering wildlife reserves is prohibited between 1 December and 30 April. Infractions are punishable with a fine of up to CHF 150 and loss of ticket. By showing consideration, you’ll make a lasting contribution to the preservation of wildlife in the Urseren Valley. Andermatt Sedrun Sport AG and the wildlife thank you for your understanding.

Four rules for protecting wildlife

  1. Respect wildlife reserves: wild animals seclude themselves there.
  2. In the forest, stay on the marked routes and trails.
  3. Avoid the forest edges and snow-free surfaces: they are favourite places for wildlife.
  4. Keep dogs on a leash, particularly in the forest.

By paying attention to these rules, you’ll make an active contribution to the preservation of wildlife in the Alps.


Andermatt Sedrun Sport AG has created two flyers to help you in planning your descent routes in a way that is gentle on wildlife. They can be downloaded here: 

Want to learn more about wild animals, wildlife reserves, and wildlife-friendly behaviour on and off the pistes? Please visit the following websites:

Schutz für Wildtiere

Wildruhezonen und Wildschutzgebiete Schweiz
im Skigebiet

Wenn du mit deinen Skis unterwegs bist, siehst du sie gar nicht, die Tiere, die neben den Pisten leben. Sie sind scheu und ziehen sich zurück. Da der Winter für Wildtiere eine schwierige Zeit ist, bitten wir dich ihre Lebensräume zu respektieren.

Schutz für Wildtiere

Viele Vögel ziehen im Winter in den Süden. Wildtiere, die die kalte Jahreszeit hier verbringen, müssen sehr haushälterisch umgehen mit ihren Energiereserven. Im Winter gibt es wenig Nahrung und meist ist diese nährstoffarm. Die Fortbewegung im Schnee zehrt an Kräften und Energiereserven. Wildtiere habe deswegen vielfältige Strategien entwickelt, um den Energieverbrauch auf das Notwendige zu reduzieren. Sie begeben sich in Höhlen oder geschützte Unterstände, wärmen sich an der Sonne auf, senken die Körpertemperatur ab und bewegen sich so wenig und so kraftsparend wie möglich.

Diese Überlebensstrategien sind nur erfolgreich, wenn die Wildtiere nicht unnötig gestört werden. Störungen verursachen Stress und lösen Fluchtreaktionen, wodurch die Tiere viel Energie verbrauchen. Im und um das Skigebiet wurden Wildschutzgebiete und Wildruhezonen bezeichnet, welche die Wildtieren vor Störungseinflüssen bewahren und die notwendige Ruhe gewährleisten sollen. Die Schutzgebiete sind auf dem Pistenplan grün eingezeichnet und vor Ort teilweise ausgeschildert.

Wildtierschutzgebiet und Wildruhezonen: Sperrzonen

Das Befahren der Wildruhezonen ist zwischen dem 1. Dezember und dem 30. April verboten. Zuwiderhandlungen werden mit Ordnungsbussen von bis zu 150 Franken und Ticketentzug geahndet. Mit ihrer Rücksichtnahme leisten sie einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zum Erhalt der Wildtiere im Urserntal. Die Andermatt Sedrun Sport AG sowie die Wildtiere danken ihnen für ihr Verständnis.

Vier Regeln für den Schutz des Wilds

  1. Beachte Wildruhezonen und Wildschutzgebiete: Wildtiere ziehen sich dorthin zurück.
  2. Bleibe im Wald auf den markierten Routen und Wegen.
  3. Meide Waldränder und schneefreie Flächen: Sie sind die Lieblingsplätze der Wildtiere.
  4. Führe Hunde an der Leine, insbesondere im Wald.

Du leistest mit diesen Massnahmen einen aktiven Beitrag zum Erhalt der Wildtiere in den Alpen.


Diese beiden Flyer der Andermatt Sedrun Sport AG helfen dir bei der Wildtier schonenden Planung deiner Abfahrtsrouten und stehen für dich zum Download bereit: 

Willst du mehr über die Wildtiere, Wildruhezonen und über Wildtier freundliches Verhalten auf und neben den Pisten erfahren, empfehlen wir dir den Besuch der folgenden beiden Internetseiten: