One ski resort, two cantons Schweiz
double the pleasure

They say that in Switzerland, the cantonal spirit rules. And at Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis, you can savour it in full, because there are specialities from two cantons: Uri and Grisons border each other here.

East of the Oberalp Pass

In Grisons, the cuisine is traditional, with regional ingredients that have a long shelf life, like potatoes and flour. Delicate herbs, seasoned air-dried beef, called “Bündnerfleisch”, or spicy alpine cheese impart flavour to the dishes.

Pizokel

This variant of spätzle is as diverse as the canton of Grisons. They can be made as sweet or savoury dishes from wheat or buckwheat flour, sometimes with some potato added. They’re served with bacon, onions and cheese, with vegetables like chard or savoy cabbage, with sweet fruits, and many other ways. In other words, a meal for every taste.

Capuns

A dish for which every Grisons family has its own (secret) recipe? Capuns! What they all have in common is that spätzle dough is rolled into little packets. But then the quibbling starts: some people use chard leaves, others lettuce leaves. And the filling? Can be Salsiz sausage, Landjäger sausage, Bündnerfleisch, or mountain cheese, plus herbs like spearmint, parsley, and chives. Cooked in cream or milk water, then topped with cheese and put under the broiler: no matter how they’re made, they’re a delicacy.

Maluns

You really wore yourself out today on the piste? A plate of Maluns will fill you right up. Grated potatoes are mixed with flour and then fried in butter until little golden crumbs start to form. Eat them with apple sauce or a piece of mountain cheese, and you’ll have renewed energy for the next descent.

Bündner Gerstensuppe

What warms you up better in winter than a delicious barley soup. Since winter barley grows at great heights and at low temperatures, it has long been a staple in Grisons. With bouillon, vegetables, and, depending on your taste, bacon, cured ham, or Bündnerfleisch, you can make a hearty soup that tastes good on more than just cold days.

Interested in trying out Grisons specialities? Visit the restaurants in Disentis and Sedrun.

West of the Oberalp Pass

Do you like good, simple dishes? Then in Uri, you’re in the right spot. Playing a major role in the cuisine of the mountain canton are dairy products and winter-hardy vegetables. Also noticeable are influences from the bordering canton of Ticino and from Italy, where in former times Uri farmers used to sell their cattle.

Urner Hafächabis

The main component of this hearty stew is, as the name says, Chabis (the Swiss-German word for cabbage), along with potatoes, onions, garlic, and lamb. Because Hafächabis tastes best reheated, it’s usually made the day before.

Älplermagronen

This speciality, typical of Switzerland, is said to have originated in the canton of Uri. After the Gotthard Tunnel was constructed, pasta products became available in the border canton, and alpine herders learned to create a wholesome dish from them: pasta, alpine cheese, and cream are mixed together and then garnished with fried onions. The dish is served with apple sauce, and if you want, you can add potatoes to the macaroni –  the origin of the word “Magronen”.

Rispor

The name “Rispor” – or “Ryys und Boor” – comes from “Reis” (the German word for rice) and “Porro” (the Italian word for leeks). The dish doesn’t consist of much more than that. After adding some Uri mountain cheese, the leek risotto becomes creamy and flavourful.

Interested in trying out Uri specialities? Visit the restaurants in Andermatt.

Ein Skigebiet, zwei Kantone, Schweiz
doppelter Genuss

In der Schweiz regiere der Kantönligeist, sagt man. Und in Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis darf man ihn voll auskosten. Denn es gibt Spezialitäten aus zwei Kantonen: Uri und Graubünden grenzen hier aneinander.

Östlich des Oberalppasses

Im Bündnerland kocht man traditionell mit regionalen, lange haltbaren Zutaten wie Kartoffeln oder Mehl. Feine Kräuter, würziges Bündnerfleisch oder rezenter Alpkäse verleihen den Gerichten ihre Würze.

Pizokel

Diese Mehlspeise ist so vielseitig wie der Kanton Graubünden. Die Riesenspätzli schmecken süss oder salzig, es gibt sie aus Weizen- und aus Buchweizenmehl oder angereichert mit Kartoffeln. Geniessen kann man sie mit Speck, Zwiebeln und Käse, mit Gemüse wie Mangold oder Wirz, mit süssen Früchten und vielem mehr. Eine Mahlzeit also für jeden Geschmack.

Capuns

Ein Gericht, für das jede Bündner Familie ein eigenes (Geheim)Rezept hat? Capuns! Allen gleich ist, dass Spätzliteig in ein Päckchen gewickelt wird. Aber da fängt's schon an: einige verwenden dafür Mangold-, andere Lattichblätter. Und die Füllung? Kann Salsiz sein, Landjäger, Bündnerfleisch oder Bergkäse, dazu Kräuter wie Krauseminze, Petersilie und Schnittlauch. In Rahm oder Milch-Wasser gekocht und mit Käse überbacken: so oder so eine Delikatesse.

Maluns

Du hast dich heute so richtig verausgabt auf der Piste? Ein Teller Maluns macht auch dich satt: Geraffelte Kartoffeln und Mehl röstet man in Butter, bis sich goldgelbe Klümpchen bilden. Dazu isst du Apfelmus oder ein Stück Bergkäse und schon hast du wieder Energie für die nächste Abfahrt.

Bündner Gerstensuppe

Was wärmt im Winter besser als eine feine Suppe? Da die Wintergerste in grossen Höhen und bei niedrigen Temperaturen wächst, war sie in Graubünden lange Zeit ein Grundnahrungsmittel. Mit Bouillon, Gemüse und je nach Geschmack Speck, Rohschinken oder Bündnerfleisch kocht man daraus eine reichhaltige Suppe, die nicht nur an kalten Tagen wunderbar schmeckt.

Lust, die Bündner Spezialitäten auszuprobieren? Besuche die Restaurants in Disentis und Sedrun.

Westlich des Oberalppasses

Du magst gute, einfache Gerichte? Dann bist du in Uri richtig. In der Küche des Bergkantons spielen Milchprodukte und winterhartes Gemüse eine grosse Rolle. Spürbar sind auch die Einflüsse aus dem angrenzenden Kanton Tessin und Italien, wohin die Urner früher ihr Vieh verkauft haben.

Urner Hafächabis

Hauptbestandteil dieses deftigen Eintopfs ist, der Name sagt es, Chabis (Schweizerdeutsch für Kohl). Dazu kommen Kartoffeln, Zwiebeln, Knoblauch und Lammfleisch. Am besten schmeckt der Hafächabis aufgewärmt, man bereitet ihn daher schon am Vortag zu.

Älplermagronen

Diese typische Schweizer Spezialität soll im Kanton Uri entstanden sein. Seit dem Bau des Gotthard-Tunnels gibt es Teigwaren im Grenzkanton und die Sennen haben aus diesen ein währschaftes Gericht kreiert: Pasta, Alpkäse und Rahm werden gemischt und mit gerösteten Zwiebeln garniert. Als Beilage gibt es Apfelmus und wer mag, gibt Kartoffeln zu den Maccheroni –  dies der Ursprung des Worts Magronen.

Rispor

Der Name Rispor – oder Ryys und Boor – kommt von Reis und Porro, dem italienischen Wort für Lauch. Und aus viel mehr besteht das Gericht auch nicht. Mit Urner Bergkäse verfeinert wird der Lauchrisotto würzig und sämig.

Lust, die Urner Spezialitäten auszuprobieren? Besuche die Restaurants in Andermatt.