Disentis Abbey

You can see it from a distance: The enormous Benedictine abbey, which barely fits in the small mountain village. The Disentis Abbey is open daily for visits. It features a museum, the recently renovated St. Martin monastery church, and the abbey shop.

1,400 years of history

The Franconian Sigisbert, who was accompanying wandering Celtic monks as they came up the Rhine, built a hermitage in the uninhabited area of Desertina. He was given support by Placidus, a powerful Rhaetian. The territorial lord Praeses Victor in Chur saw this as a threat to the long-protected special status of Churrätien, so he had Placidus killed. According to tradition, Placidus was then named a martyr and Sigisbert, a confessor. The Disentis Abbey was built in the year 700 around their graves. The feast of the Disentis founding saints Placidus and Sigisbert is 11 July. It is celebrated on the Sunday before.

Secondary school and boarding school

As is customary at abbeys, knowledge has also been passed on in Disentis for hundreds of years. Today, the Benedictines run their own school. The secondary school provides instruction to Swiss and international students on the way to obtaining their leaving certificate – locals as day students, those from farther away, in the boarding school. The monks make up part of the faculty, passing on Saint Benedict’s philosophy of life – prayer, study, work. And the school’s high success rate underscores the value of this way of life.

Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis

It is also evident from the abbey’s history that the regions to the north and south of the Oberalp Pass belonged together even earlier. Belonging to Disentis was the Lukmanier Pass, which the German Emperors Otto l and Frederick Barbarossa crossed during their journeys south. The abbey therefore received landholdings that extended as far as Lombardy, which resulted in the establishment of a monastic state of considerable size. The peasant lands stretched from Brigels in the east to the Furka Pass in the west. The situation remained that way until the sell-off of the Urseren Valley area in 1649, at which time the state drew its boundaries around the smaller territory of Tavanasa to Selva. It took nearly another 400 years until the Urseren Valley and Surselva drew close together again, thanks to the merger of Andermatt, Sedrun, and Disentis – Another plus of Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis.


Sources:
- Benedictine abbey in Disentis: History (German only)
- Sursassiala: Disentis/Mustér and its history (German only)

Learn more:
- Disentis Abbey secondary school and boarding school
- Disentis Abbey (German only)

Kloster Disentis

Man sieht es schon von weitem: Das riesige Benediktinerkloster, das so gar nicht in das kleine Bergdorf passen will. Das Kloster Disentis mit seinem Museum, der frisch renovierten Klosterkirche St. Martin und dem Klostershop ist täglich offen für Besuche.

1400 Jahre Geschichte

Der Franke Sigisbert kam im Umfeld der iroschottischen Wandermönche rheinaufwärts und errichtete in der unbewohnten Gegend der Desertina eine Einsiedelei. Der mächtige einheimische Räter Placidus unterstützte ihn. Der Landesherr Praeses Victor in Chur sah dadurch die bisher bewahrte Sonderstellung Churrätiens gefährdet, darum liess er Placidus umbringen. Die Überlieferung nannte in der Folge Placidus einen Märtyrer und Sigisbert einen Bekenner. Um ihr Grab entstand um das Jahr 700 das Kloster Disentis. Das Fest der Disentiser Gründungsheiligen Placidus und Sigisbert ist der 11. Juli. Es wird am vorausgehenden Sonntag gefeiert.

Gymnasium und Internat

Wie in Klöstern üblich, wird auch in Disentis schon seit hunderten von Jahren Wissen weitergegeben. Heute führen die Benediktiner ihre eigene Schule. Das Gymnasium begleitet Schweizer und internationale Schülerinnen und Schüler auf ihrem Weg zur Matura ˗ einheimische als Tagesschüler, solche von weiter weg im Internat. Die Mönche machen einen Teil des Lehrkörpers aus, so geben sie die Lebensphilosophie des heiligen Benedikt – Ora, Lege, Labora – weiter. Und die hohe Erfolgsquote der Schule unterstreicht den Wert dieser Lebenshaltung.

Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis

Aus der Klostergeschichte zeigt sich übrigens auch, dass die Regionen nördlich und südlich des Oberalppasses schon früher zusammengehört haben. Zu Disentis gehörte der Lukmanierpass den die deutschen Kaiser Otto l. und Friedrich I. Barbarossa für ihre Reisen in den Süden überquerten. Das Kloster erhielt darum Ländereien bis in die Lombardei, wodurch ein Klosterstaat von beachtlicher Grösse entstand: Das Untertanengebiet erstreckte sich im Osten bis Brigels, im Westen bis zum Furkapass. So blieb es bis zum Auskauf der Talschaft Urseren 1649. Darauf begrenzte sich der Staat auf das engere Gebiet von Tavanasa bis Selva. Erst fast 400 Jahre später kommen sich das Urserntal und die Surselva dank dem Zusammenschluss von Andermatt, Sedrun und Disentis wieder näher – Ein weiteres Plus von Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis.


Quellen:
- Benediktinerkloster Disentis: Geschichte
- Sursassiala: Disentis/Mustér und seine Geschichte

Mehr erfahren:
- Gymnasium und Internat Kloster Disentis
- Kloster Disentis