Snowshoeing: winter up close

Do you love snowy woods, crunchy snow, peace and solitude? On a snowshoe tour, you’ll be far away from the ski lifts and pistes in a flash. At Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis, many routes are signposted and easy to reach.

Charming pass roads

In winter, the roads over the Furka, Gotthard, and Oberalp Passes are closed to vehicle traffic. The passages, so busy in summer, lie quiet beneath a thick blanket of snow. This affords you a wonderful opportunity to discover these regions. The Saint-Gotthard Massif, for instance, beckons with quiet and solitude. Heading toward the Furka Pass, you’ll reach the Albert Heim hut of the Swiss Alpine Club. From there, you’ll have a sensational view of the mighty peaks nearby – looking out from the cosy sun terrace with a hot drink in your hand. The hut is almost always serviced. When descending, another stop beckons: the Hotel Tiefenbach. Here, you can rent sledges that will take you back down to Realp in a flash. Not snow covered, but just as charming: the Lukmanier Pass. From the top of the pass, hours-long snowshoe tours will lead you through an area whose scenery is unmatched. You can get to and from the top of the pass conveniently with the ski touring bus.

Summit destinations with a view

Do you enjoy challenging destinations with a 360-degree view? An ascent from Realp to the Stotzigen Firsten, from the Albert Heim hut to the Chli Bielenhorn, from Mompé Medel to the Piz Pazzola, or from the Oberalp Pass to the Piz Cavardi requires technical skill and good conditioning. You’ll be rewarded with an unforgettable view of countless high alpine peaks. 

In the tracks of wildlife

When hiking in fresh snow, you might encounter animal tracks. Do you recognise them? And if you’re really lucky and stand still for a while, you might even encounter the animals themselves. Moving about in our woods and on our mountains in winter are such animals as black grouse, ptarmigans, mountain hares, and chamois. Please be sure to avoid tramping into wildlife reserves with your snowshoes.


Click hereto learn more about wildlife. 

Safety first

When snowshoeing, you’re travelling off the safe pistes. The trails are marked, but they sometimes cross through territory that is exposed to avalanches. Experience in open terrain, skill in using avalanche gear, and serious preparation, as well as an overview of the current avalanche situation, are essential requirements for every tour. If you’re unfamiliar with the area, or if you’re unsure about your off-piste abilities, we recommend that you arrange for a mountain sports expert to accompany you. Please also respect the wildlife reserves.


WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF: Avalanche bulletin
MeteoSwiss: Weather report
Respect your boundaries: Four rules for more nature

Schneeschuhwandern: Hautnah am Winter

Du liebst tief verschneite Wälder, knirschenden Schnee, Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit? Auf einer Schneeschuhtour bist du im Nu weitab von Skiliften und Pisten. In Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis sind viele Routen ausgeschildert und einfach zu erreichen.

Reizvolle Passstrassen

Im Winter sind die Strassen über den Furka-, den Gotthard und den Oberalppass für den Autoverkehr gesperrt. Die sommers so befahrenen Übergänge liegen still unter einer dicken Schneeschicht. Für dich die optimale Gelegenheit, diese Gegenden zu entdecken. Das Gotthardmassiv beispielsweise lockt mit Einsamkeit und Ruhe. Richtung Furkapass gelangst du zur Albert-Heim-Hütte des Schweizerischen Alpenclubs. Von dort hast du eine sensationelle Aussicht auf die mächtigen umliegenden Gipfel. Und das von der gemütlichen Sonnenterrasse aus mit einem heissen Getränk in der Hand. Die Hütte ist nämlich praktisch durchgehend bewartet. Beim Abstieg lockt eine weitere Einkehrmöglichkeit: Das Hotel Tiefenbach. Hier kannst du einen Schlitten mieten, mit dem du im Nu wieder in Realp landest. Nicht schneebedeckt, aber genauso reizvoll: Der Lukmanierpass. Von der Passhöhe aus führen dich stundelange Schneeschuhtouren durch eine landschaftlich einzigartige Gegend. Auf die Passhöhe und zurück reist du bequem mit dem Schneetourenbus.

Gipfelziele mit Aussicht

Du magst anspruchsvolle Ziele mit Rundumsicht? Eine Tour von Realp auf den Stotzigen Firsten,von der Albert-Heim-Hütte auf das Chli Bielenhorn, von Mompé Medel auf den Piz Pazzola oder vom Oberalppass auf den Piz Cavardi fordern dich technisch und konditionell. Belohnt wirst du mit einem unvergesslichen Ausblick auf unzählige hochalpine Gipfel. 

Auf den Spuren von Wildtieren

Beim Wandern im frischen Schnee triffst du vielleicht auf Tierspuren. Erkennst du sie? Und wenn du grosses Glück hast und eine Weile stillstehst, begegnest du den Tieren sogar. Im Winter bewegen sich zum Beispiel Birkenhühner, Schneehühner, Schneehasen oder Gämsen in unseren Wäldern und Bergen. Bitte achte darauf, dass du mit deinen Schneeschuhen nicht in Wildtierschutzgebiete und -ruhezonen hineingerätst.


Klicke hier, um mehr über die Wildtiere zu erfahren. 

Safety first

Beim Schneeschuhwandern bewegst du dich ausserhalb der gesicherten Pisten. Die Trails sind markiert, führen aber teilweise durch lawinengefährdetes Gebiet. Erfahrungen im freien Gelände, sicherer Umgang mit der Lawinenausrüstung und eine seriöse Vorbereitung samt Überblick über die aktuelle Lawinensituation sind ein absolutes Muss vor jeder Tour. Wenn du die Gegend noch nicht kennst oder du dir unsicher bist über deine Off-Piste-Kenntnisse, empfehlen wir dir, dich von einem Bergsportprofi begleiten zu lassen. Bitte beachte auch die Wildtierschutzgebiete und -ruhezonen.


WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung: Lawinenbulletin
MeteoSchweiz: Wetterbericht
Respektiere deine Grenzen: Vier Regeln für mehr Natur