Premier Schweiz
Freeriding El Dorado

Deep powder, steep chutes, first lines – if these terms mean anything to you, then Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis is the place for you. According to trade magazines, the Gotthard region is also one of the best off-piste areas in the world.

Gemsstock in Andermatt

Trails with a vertical drop of 1,500 metres, challenging chutes, and couloirs in all shapes and sizes await freeriders on Gemsstock, which rises to to a height of nearly 3,000 metres. The mountain is famous throughout the world for its “Felsental”, “Giraffe”, “Guspis”, and “Geissberg” trails. They offer a wide variety of routes through the powder: from ten-kilometre trails to gnarly terrain. Particularly famous is the “Giraffe”, which gets its name from its course on the map. But descriptions don’t do this area justice – be sure to get a mountain guide so that you can experience this freeriding plus yourself!

Powder valleys as Disentis

Disentis is also no longer just an insider tip among freeriders: The trails in Val Segnas and Val Acletta have become classics. The ski resort is also close to other valleys with powder slopes: Val Pintga and Val Gronda offer countless opportunities for busting powder in idyllic, secluded landscapes. Whether you’re a newbie cruising next to the groomed pistes or an ace looking for some freeriding challenges: At Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis, you’ll find a trail that suits your needs. For your convenience, many routes can be reached almost directly from the cableways. That way, your legs won't be worn out from the climb.

Safety first

The off-piste trails are often steep and exposed to avalanches. Experience in open terrain, skill in using avalanche gear, and serious preparation, as well as an overview of the current avalanche situation, are essential requirements for ski touring. If you’re unfamiliar with the area, or if you’re unsure about your off-piste abilities, we recommend that you arrange for a mountain sports expert to accompany you. Please also respect the wildlife reserves.

Training areas for avalanche rescue

We have two training fields for you to practice using your avalanche beacon (called an “LVS” in German). At the Gendusa chairlift summit station, you can search for a buried LVS in a search field and learn valuable information about avalanches and rescue devices. LVS devices are available from sports shops and at the Bar Nevada. Training sessions are held several times during the season. Another training field, the Avalanche Training Center, is also available to our guests at Gurschenalp. At an avalanche cone with 16 controllable transmitters, you can receive training on how to search for a single or multiple buried skiers. There is no charge to use the search fields.


WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF: Avalanche bulletin
MeteoSwiss: Weather report
Respect your boundaries: Four rules for more nature

Erstklassiges Schweiz
Freeride-Eldorado

Deep Powder, steile Rinnen, first lines – wenn du mit diesen Begriffen etwas anfangen kann, bist du in Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis hundertprozentig richtig. Die Gotthardregion ist auch gemäss Fachmagazinen eines der besten Off-Piste-Gebiete der Welt.

Der Gemsstock in Andermatt

Abfahrten über 1‘500 Höhenmeter, anspruchsvolle Rinnen und Couloirs in allen Facetten warten auf dem knapp 3‘000 Meter hohen Gemsstock auf Freeriderinnen und Freerider. Der Berg ist weltbekannt für seine Abfahrten «Felsental», «Giraffe», «Guspis» oder «Geissberg». Sie bieten verschiedenste Routen durch den Powder: von zehn kilometerlangen Abfahrten bis zum felsdurchsetzten Gelände. Bekannt ist vor allem die «Giraffe», die ihren Namen ihrem Verlauf auf der Landkarte verdankt. Beschreibungen werden diesem Gebiet aber nicht gerecht – es empfiehlt sich ein Bergführer, um dieses Plus an Freeride selbst erleben zu können!

Powder-Täler bei Disentis

Auch Disentis ist unter Freeridern kein Geheimtipp mehr: Die Abfahrten im Val Segnas und im Val Acletta sind längst Klassiker. Rund um das Skigebiet locken weitere Täler mit Pulverhängen: das Val Pintga oder das Val Gronda bieten unzählige Möglichkeiten zum Powdern in idyllischen, einsamen Landschaften. Egal, ob du Neuling bist beim Cruisen neben den präparierten Pisten oder ob du schon einige Ansprüche hast an ein Freeride-Gebiet. In Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis findest du eine passende Abfahrt. Komfortablerweise können viele Routen fast direkt von den Bergbahnen aus erreicht werden. So brennen deine Beine nicht schon vom Aufstieg.

Safety first

Die Abfahrten abseits der Piste sind teilweise steil und lawinengefährdet. Erfahrungen im freien Gelände, sicherer Umgang mit der Lawinenausrüstung und eine seriöse Vorbereitung samt Überblick über die aktuelle Lawinensituation sind ein absolutes Muss vor jeder Tour. Wenn du das Gebiet noch nicht kennst oder du dir unsicher bist über deine Off-Piste-Kenntnisse, empfehlen wir dir, dich von einem Bergsportprofi begleiten zu lassen. Bitte beachte auch die Wildtierschutzgebiete und -ruhezonen.

Ausbildungsgebiete für Lawinenrettung

Damit du den Umgang mit deinem Lawinenverschüttetensuchgerät (LVS) üben kannst, gibt es bei uns zwei Übungsgelände. An der Bergstation des Sessellifts Gendusas kannst du in einem Suchfeld vergrabene LVS suchen und Wissenswertes über Lawinen und Rettungsgeräte erfahren. LVS-Geräte sind bei Sportgeschäften und bei der Bar Nevada verfügbar. Mehrere Male während der Saison finden Ausbildungen statt. Mit dem Avalanche Training Center steht unseren Gästen auch auf der Gurschenalp ein Ausbildungsgelände zur Verfügung. Auf einem Lawinenkegel mit 16 steuerbaren Sendern kannst du die Einfach- und die Mehrfachverschüttetensuche trainieren. Die Nutzung der Suchfelder ist kostenlos.


WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung: Lawinenbulletin
MeteoSchweiz: Wetterbericht
Respektiere deine Grenzen: Vier Regeln für mehr Natur