Commitment to the environment

Sustainability

Protection of nature and the environment is of utmost importance to us. As a principal partner of Protect Our Winters Switzerland, we are committed to climate protection so that future generations will also be able to enjoy snow-filled winters.

Reducing energy consumption

The operation of a ski resort is energy-intensive – we require water, electricity, and fuel. In collaboration with Cleantech Agentur Schweiz (“act”), we have set agreed targets and taken steps to lower energy consumption and CO2 emissions. Every year, the participating locations have exceeded the targets that they have agreed to with act since 2015 (act energy efficiency certificate).

Using renewable energy

In addition to reducing energy consumption, the source of our energy is also important to us. One hundred percent of the electric power in the area serviced by the Urseren Power Plant and Energia Alpina comes from renewable sources. The companies operate hydroelectric power plants and wind turbines in the region.

Reducing plastic

At all mountain restaurants operated under the catering brand “Mountain Food” of the SkiArena Andermatt-Sedrun, we are no longer stocking PET bottles. We serve our good mountain water – still and sparkling – free of charge there.

Eating locally and with an eye to the environment

Where possible, Mountain Food uses ingredients from the region. Therefore, all of the group’s mountain restaurants have zero-kilometre menus. The Mountain Food restaurants also offer a large selection of vegetarian dishes. In addition, Mountain Food operates its own bakery, a chocolate maker, and a pasta-making facility, working closely with suppliers and producers in the Urseren Valley. That means high-quality products under sustainable conditions for the region without long travel distances.

Using public transportation

Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis can be reached easily by train, and the individual villages are linked by the Matterhorn Gotthard Railway. Our Ski Express brings guests from Switzerland’s larger cities directly to the ski resorts with the car-train.


POW – Protect our Winters

Nachhaltigkeit

Natur- und Umweltschutz liegt uns am Herzen. Als Hauptpartnerin von Protect Our Winters Schweiz setzen wir uns für den Klimaschutz ein, sodass sich auch zukünftige Generationen über schneereiche Winter freuen.

Energieverbrauch reduzieren

Der Betrieb eines Skigebietes ist energieintensiv – wir brauchen Wasser, Elektrizität und Treibstoffe. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Act Cleantech Agentur Schweiz haben wir Zielvereinbarungen festgelegt und Massnahmen ergriffen, um den Energieverbrauch und die CO2-Emissionen zu senken. Die teilnehmenden Standorte haben die Zielvereinbarungen, die seit 2015 mit Act getroffen wurden, jedes Jahr übertroffen (act-Energieeffizienz-Zertifikat).

Erneuerbare Energien verwenden

Nebst der Reduktion des Energieverbrauchs ist uns auch die Herkunft der Energie wichtig. Die elektrische Energie im Versorgungsgebiet des EW Ursern und von Energia Alpina wird zu 100 Prozent aus erneuerbaren Quellen bezogen. Die Unternehmen betreiben Wasserkraftwerke und Windenergieanlagen in der Region.

Plastik reduzieren

Konsequent wird in allen Bergrestaurants des Gastronomiebrands der SkiArena Andermatt-Sedrun «Mountain Food» auf PET-Flaschen verzichtet. Unser gutes Bergwasser – still oder sprudelnd – erhältst du dort kostenlos.

Lokal und bewusst konsumieren

Mountain Food verwendet wenn möglich Zutaten aus der Region. Jedes Bergrestaurant der Gruppe hat darum Km-Zero-Menüs im Angebot. Gleichzeitig gibt es in den Mountain Food Restaurants eine grosse Auswahl an vegetarischen Gerichten. Mountain Food betreibt ausserdem eine eigene Bäckerei, eine Chocolaterie und eine Pasta-Manufaktur und arbeitet eng mit den Lieferanten und Produzenten im Urserntal zusammen. So entstehen unter nachhaltigen Bedingungen für die Region hochwertige Produkte ohne Anfahrtswege.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel nutzen

Andermatt+Sedrun+Disentis ist mit dem Zug gut zu erreichen und die einzelnen Orte sind alle dank der Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn verbunden. Mit unserem eigenen Ski-Express bringen wir Gäste aus den grösseren Städten der Schweiz mit dem Reisecar direkt ins Skigebiet.


POW Protect our Winters